Senior Advisory Commission


The Senior Advisory Commission is designed to engage Seniors and utilize their particular insight and opinions on the issues affecting the senior population in the community as it relates to programs for seniors. The Senior Advisory Commission will help to:

A. To act as a liaison for all seniors in the City of Airway Heights and advise on ways to enrich and enhance the health and quality of life of seniors in the community;

B. To solicit input and act as a public forum for issues that affect seniors in the community;

C. To provide advice based on input received to improve the programs, policies, and services provided to seniors;

D. To form partnerships in the community to educate, inform, and improve the quality of life for seniors;

E. To work with and support existing senior programs;

F. To assist with volunteer recruitment; and

G. To assist with the marketing of senior programs, activities and events.


The commission shall be composed of no less than five nor more than seven members. Members of the commission shall be residents of the City of Airway Heights. Members shall have demonstrated interest, competence or knowledge regarding problems or issues relating to health, morale and welfare of senior citizens. Members shall be representative of the different geographical areas of the City.

The members of the commission shall be appointed by the City Council. Each commission member must sign the Airway Heights Senior Advisory Commission Code of Ethics prior to assumption of their duties as a Senior Commissioner.

All appointments to the commission shall be for a period of three years. At the expiration of each member’s term, a successor shall be appointed for a term of three years. Members shall serve until their successors have been appointed and qualified. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner in which original appointments are made, but appointments to fill vacancies shall be only for the remainder of the unexpired term. A commissioner’s term shall coincide with the calendar year, beginning January 1st and expiring December 31st.